The second concert of the sixteenth Primavera Musical is on at 11:30 am at Auditorio de Tenerife’s Sala de Cámara. The Auditorio is under the Department of Culture, Education, Youth and Sport of the Cabildo de Tenerife, led by Councillor Concepción Rivero. 145 performers of the Arafo, El Rosario and San Andrés bands will take the stage.

The concert, which is admission free, starts with Asociación Cultural y Recreativa Unión Musical Aída from San Andrés. The 28 musicians, conducted by Juan Alexis González Rodríguez, will start with the paso doble Crearte, by José Luis Peiró Reig, to then go on with Jacob de Haan’s Queen of the dolomites. They will finish with the paso doble La Fallera, by Ferrer Ferrán.

The 29 musicians of the Asociación Cultural Musical Princesa Yaiza in El Rosario will play under the baton of Juan Antonio Rancel Tejera. The band will open with the paso doble Soñad el mar, by Manuel Morales Martínez, to be followed by Nuni Osorio’s Cycles and Myths. They will close with I was born to love you, by Queen, in a version arranged by Francisco Curbelo and featuring Aarón Morales as soloist.

The Sociedad Filarmónica Nivaria, from Arafo, will end the concert with its 88 musicians. Conducted by Miguel Ángel Expósito Marrero, the banda will start their repertoire with Sergi Pastor’s concert paso doble Daniela Gómez de los Ángeles. They will then play Pompeii, by José Alberto Pina and will put an end to the second  Primavera Musical session with the zarzuela intermezzo La boda de Luis Alonso, by Gerónimo Giménez.

The Primavera Musical series, an initiative of the Federación Tinerfeña de Bandas de Música [Tenerife Music Bands Federation], with the collaboration of the Cabildo, is held at Auditorio de Tenerife’s Sala de Cámara. It started on 1 March and continues on 8, 15 and 22 March; 5, 19, 26 April; 10, 17, 24 and 31 May and 14 June. Concerts start at 11:30 am and admission is free.