Enrique Arriaga, who attended the concert that the Young Choir offered yesterday, stresses the "great work delivered by the young chorus members"


The Auditorio de Tenerife, a cultural space linked to the Department of Culture of Tenerife Island Council, is managed by its Director of Culture, Enrique Arriaga. The Auditorium’s Youth Choir offers on Thursday, the 8th of July at 7:30 pm, a concert in the Real Casino of Tenerife. The Youth Choir was created in 2016 within the Educational and Social Area of Auditorio de Tenerife. It is comprised of some thirty voices, young people who are between 16 and 30 years old, and it is directed by Roxana Schmunk.

During their concert in the Real Casino de Tenerife, they will feature the same 18 pieces they sang yesterday during the concert offered by the Auditorio de Tenerife. Once more and with a full Chamber Hall, they achieved a new success. Enrique Arriaga attended the concert and after it, he met the director and the choir members. Coro Juvenil 41

"The Island Council stresses its support of this cultural project, even more so after seeing the enormous work delivered by their young members", declared Arriaga, who added that this group "has offered a fantastic performance at the end of a season which has been very conditioned by health restrictions".

The themes that were performed in the Chamber Hall and will be heard again this Thursday in the Real Casino are: Joyful, Joyful (Sister Act 2), based on Ode to Joy, Beethoven's 9th Symphony (arranged by Mervyn Warren) with Laura Picar and Javier de Lathouwer as soloist; The Music’s Always There with You by John Rutter; Vida, vida, by Francisco Céspedes featuring Rozied Correa. The programme will continue with Como la cigarra, by María Elena Walsh, arranged by Beatriz Corona; to continue with Indodana, a traditional isiXhosa song arranged by Michael Barrett and Ralf Schmitt.

Next, the concert will continue with Ballade to the Moon, by Daniel Elder; No hay camino, by Antonio Machado and Eurico Carrapatoso; with Arantxa Cooper, Pablo Daryanani or Rozied Correa as soloist; The Seal Lullaby, de Rudyard Kipling y Erik Whitacre; Cuando te beso, by Juan Luis Guerra, where Andrés Misle will sing as a soloist. Only in Sleep, by Sara Teasdale and Ēriks Ešenvalds; A Song for You, by Leonard Russell; traditional lullaby, Arrorró arranged by Beatriz Corona; And So It Goes, by Billy Joel; Bring Me Little Water with Yolanda Pascual as soloist; Nocturnos de la ventana, by Federico García Lorca and F. Vila; The Lord Bless You, by John Rutter; Hallelujah, by Leonard Cohen, and A Sky Full of Stars, by Coldplay.